SCANNER: The next main headliner of Power of the Night XI Festival

The next headline act for Power of the Night XI festival, is the German heavy/speed metal band SCANNER!

Read the official announcement:

Previously known as LIONS BREED ( a German Metal act that released the 1985 album on the Earthshaker label entitled “Damn The Night”) the group changed the vocalists and the drummer and became SCANNER in 1986, adopting an on stage sci-fi image.

SCANNER appeared in 1987 with the opener track “GALACTOS” on the “DOOMSDAY NEWS” compilation by NOISE RECORDS, Berlin. The group’s debut album, “HYPERTRACE”, was produced by ELOY vocalist Frank Bornemann and was released in 1988. Backing vocals for this outing were contributed by Ralph Scheepers (today Primal Fear). The Japanese Release of this album added the exclusive track “Galactos” from the DOOMSDAY NEWS compilation.

In 1991 the second album, “TERMINAL EARTH”, had been released the group had parted company with vocalist Michael Knoblich and replaced him with the Yugoslavian born ex-ANGEL DUST front man S.L. Coe. When personality clashes erupted between Coe and his band mates the vocalist was forced out in 1993.

Guitarist and bandleader Axel Julius (also producer aka Nigel Boston) recruited a new line up for SCANNER to release the “MENTAL RESERVATION” album in 1995 for the MASSACRE RECORDS label and JVC Victor Entertainment, Japan. The band comprised Polish vocalist Haridon Lee, bassist John A.B.C. Smith and drummer D.D. Bucco for this album, although Smith was succeeded by Marc Simon shortly after the record was released.

1997’s “BALL OF THE DAMNED” would prove an ambitious affair as the band took on cover version of QUEEN’s epic “Innuendo”. Ralph Scheepers, by now in PRIMAL FEAR, also appeared once more lending vocals to “Puppet On A String”. Touring to promote the album saw headline European dates with support act UNREST before a further round of shows on a package billing with FATES WARNING and OMEN. In summer ‘97 SCANNER appeared first time at W.O.A., Wacken Open Air, Germany.

SCANNER ‘s 2002 release was brandishing the new studio album “SCANTROPOLIS”. At this stage the new look band comprised female vocalist Lisa Croft, guitarists Axel Julius and Thilo Zaun, bass player Marc Simon, keyboard player Johannes Brunn and drummer Jan Zimmer. The album closes with an unaccredited version of “Till The Ferryman Dies” recorded live in Stockholm.

In 2003 Greek vocalist Efthimios Ioannidis joined the band and is SCANNER’s most constant singer until today’s line-up. SCANNER played a lot of shows whole of Europe in the past years. The 6th SCANNER album “THE JUDGEMENT” was released on January, 23rd, 2015.